Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-02-12 - 1:49 p.m.

Election Day

Maryland is having their primary today for both the Republicans and Democrats. In Maryland, you can vote only for those candidates for the party of which you are registered. [My co-workers from Virginia report that they were allowed to vote for any party's candidates. How cool!] I voted before coming into work. The line moved slowly on account of the volunteers. They were of retirement age having difficulties hearing people give their names, keying that information into a computer, and reading the computer screen to verify other information. It took more time to check in than it did to actually vote.

I'm somewhat nervous about this year's election and am concerned about who will win the Democratic nomination. [Barring any unforeseen events, I think McCain will win the Republican nomination.]

Obviously, things aren't so clear on the Democratic side. Of the 2 Democratic front runners, there is one that I do not trust, that I don't think is qualified for the job, and that I think would do a horrible job. This Democratic candidate scares me. Hopefully, enough people will vote for someone else.

As a friend says, "You have to vote to be able to complain."

I'm able to complain. :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!