Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-05-10 - 10:06 p.m.

NOLA

Well, in a few days, I'm heading down to New Orleans for a business trip. I'm really not looking forward to it. There is something wrong about partying it up in a city where many residents still are unable to return home post-Katrina. I'm not looking forward to spending hours in the convention center knowing that many residents lived there for a week without food or water, some of whom died in that building. I know the building underwent renovations afterwards, but somehow new carpeting and a new coat of paint just doesn't seem to cover up the crimes and the dying that took place in there.

There are some who say that by my going down there and spending money helps the local economy. Yeah, I get that, but . . . it makes me a little bit sick at the same time. I can't be the only one who thinks this way.

NOLA does have terrific restaurants and fabulous jazz music. That part will be enjoyable enough.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!