Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-05-23 - 1:43 p.m.

Back From the Big Easy

I got home Wednesday afternoon from NOLA. The flight was overbooked, but I made it back without any problems.

Tuesday night I finally got a chance to eat in one of Emeril Lagasse's restaurants! I've been a fan of him and his show, and I own a few of his cookbooks. I enjoy making the recipes and have long wanted to eat in one of his restaurants. So, I headed over to his place called, appropriately enough, NOLA on St. Louis Street in the French Quarter. Since I wasn't able to make a reservation, I sat at the small bar on the first floor. I had a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon before I even looked at the menu.

For my appetizer, I had the "Emeril�s Barbecued Gulf Shrimp with Rosemary Biscuit". Strangely enough, this is something I make several times a year at home. I ordered it to see how it is supposed to taste and look. I will admit I skip the rosemary biscuit portion of the recipe, so I was interested in how it tasted. It was very tasty.

For my entree, I had the salmon that had a tarragon aioli, maque choix, and crispy onion rings. This was also very delicious.

Yes, I had room for dessert. I had the "Vanilla-Rootbeer Marbled Pound Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream and Rootbeer Drizzle"! It was an excellent ending to an excellent meal.

My expectations for an Emeril Restaurant were sky-high and I was not disappointed at all. It was a great way to end my trip in the Big Easy.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!