Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-03-03 - 3:20 p.m.

I can have my cake and eat it too!

On Saturday I decided to bake a chocolate cake from scratch and tried a new recipe. After the cake was finally cooled, I prepared my butter and confectioner's sugar to make the frosting. I put the butter in the mixing bowl, set up the beaters, and hit the ON button. My 15-year old Oster Kitchen Center (blender, mixer, food chopper) died. It made a few sick metal-grinding-on-metal sounds before I quickly shut it off.

This was music to my ears!

I used the Oster primarily for the mixer functions. Once in a great while, I used the blender, but didn't use the food processor functions as the bowl was way too small for any real use. Besides which, I have a Cuisinart Food Processor that I keep the counter top for quick and easy usage.

For quite some time now, I've been wanting to buy a Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer! I was merely waiting for my old mixer to die on me (although not right when I needed to make frosting). I grabbed one of those 20% coupons a chain store for housewares is so popular for, and headed out to buy a new mixer. The coupon saved me $60 which was really cool.

I rushed back home, quickly read the directions/instructions, washed the bowl and beaters, and proceeded to make the frosting.

It was all a success. The cake turned out yummily and I finally have the mixer I've wanted.

It'll be fun at birthdays and Christmases to get the really cool attachments that go with the mixer: ice cream maker, ravioli maker, and pasta roller to name just a few.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!