Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-05-19 - 2:31 p.m.

NOLA

So, Day #2 of my association's convention. I've already seen the Rev. Jesse Jackson and Brian McKnight today. Brian was autographing pictures and handing out his CD, so I had him sign the picture to my friend Staci (who is a huge huge fan) and I'm keeping the CD for me. (She already has the CD and says its a good one.) I know NY Giants quarterback Eli Manning is somewhere in the building but I haven't seen him yet. As big a Redskins fan I am and as big a Giants hater that I am, I wouldn't mind meeting Eli and seeing a SuperBowl ring up close.

Dinner last night at Mr. B's Bistro was delicious. I had the Bacon-Wrapped Shrimp Over Grits that was delicious. I met 3 people from Minnesota who sounded like extras from the movie "Fargo". One of the guys, Chris, was from Fargo, ND before moving to Central Minnesota. Jesse was a bit difficult to understand as his accent was the strongest, but they were fun to talk to.

New Orleans is still recovering from the effects of Hurricane Katrina. I can see that it has come a long long way, but it still has a long long way to go. I have seen a few blue roofs - roofs still under the bright blue plastic tarps that went up after the storm. In some ways it is all depressing. Tourism is doing well down here -- better than I thought it was. However, the hospitality industry is still suffering as many workers have not returned, if they ever will. I really was hesitant about coming to NOLA, and had it not been for this convention, I'm not sure I ever would have come back. It's still an emotional thing to be here, but it isn't as bad as I thought it would be.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!